Dear student,

Welcome to The Peak, Hong Kong website!

Please find below some brief fact information about the most popular tourist destination in Hong Kong.

Should you wish to know more about The Peak, please visit the homepage and click on the boxes located at the left column, where these boxes offer links to various attractions at The Peak.

Thank You

THE PEAK, Hong Kong's most popular attraction is more than just stunning vistas or great shopping and dining. It's an amazing collection of unique must-visit attractions, providing you with a diverse fun-filled experience of Hong Kong's living culture.

A Must-Experience in Hong Kong
Getting to The Peak is an unforgettable trip. There's nothing in the world like the Peak Tram, one of the world's oldest and most famous funicular railways since 1888. Pulled by steel cables, the tram rises from 18 metres to 396 metres (about 1,300 feet) above sea level. It's so steep that the buildings you pass look like they are leaning at with a gradient of between 4 to 27 degrees! W hether you're going up or coming down, you'll love this trip!

Step Back in Time
Many years have been spent in collecting memorabilia from all over the world and planning the Peak Tram Historical Gallery. Some of the display items are more than a hundred years old. A replica of the first generation Peak Tram carriage have been brought to life and the 1926 Haulage Room is recreated which was responsible for pulling the Trams up and down the Peak for over 60 years.

The Peak Tram Historical Gallery is a way of paying tribute to the Peak Tram, its heritage and the history of Hong Kong. Since 1888, the Peak Tram has served Hong Kong, quietly witnessing the city's changes. The Gallery is a place that brings back many memories for local visitors and gives overseas visitors a glimpse of how the Pearl of the Orient has come to shine.

The Peak Tram History
The Peak Tram is arguably the most enduring emblem of Hong Kong's unique past. It has seen war, been featured on films and television and played host to numerous dignitaries.

In the early days (circa 1880), most people were carried to and from the Peak by sedan chair - a frail bamboo chair supported by two strong coolies. It was the most popular, if not the most comfortable mode of transport.

In May of 1881, the enterprising Scotsman Alexander Findlay Smith devised a plan to speed the development of new residences in the hill districts with the introduction of a funicular train that would connect Murray Barracks to Victoria Gap.

On May 30, 1888, Governor Sir George William des Voeux officiated at the inauguration of this important transport for the commuters on the peak.   Since then, the Peak Tram has helped to shape the face of Hong Kong's development.

See you at The Peak Tower
Perching on The Peak at 396 metres above sea level, The Peak Tower is the most stylish architectural icon and landmark in Hong Kong. With an avant-garde design representing the epitome of modern architecture, the spectacular tower has been featured in millions of photographs and postcards across the world.

Inside The Peak Tower, there is a dazzling array of restaurants, shops, entertainment venues and highest 360° viewing terrace set against the beautiful backdrop of the city.

Sky Terrace 428
The highest 360° viewing terrace in town!
The Sky Terrace 428, the highest viewing platform in Hong Kong offering a stunning 360-degree panoramic view across the Hong Kong. Whether you visit The Peak in the morning, afternoon or nighttime, the Sky Terrace 428 is a scenic spot that you could not miss!

The Three Reincarnations of The Peak Tower
With the growing numbers of recreational visitors to the Peak during the 1960s it was clear that improved amenities were required at Victoria Gap.

The construction of the original Peak Tower began in 1971. Housing the upper terminus of the Peak Tram, the Tower does not sit atop Victoria Peak but is situated in Victoria Gap, a dip along the line of the hills at an elevation of 396 metres. The Tower was considered a futuristic display of architecture and was first unveiled to the public on August 29, 1972.

In 1993, the Peak Tower underwent a HK$500-million redevelopment into a new retail and entertainment complex, designed by renowned British architect Terry Farrell. It was officially opened to the public in May 1997.

Work on the revitalisation of the Peak Tower began in March 2005. Relaunched in mid 2006, the Peak Tower has transformed as the most recognisable landmark in HK and an essential leisure destination offering great variety of dining, specialty shopping and interactive entertainment zone.

The Peak offers you one of Hong Kong's stunning countryside. You will be amazed of how close it is to the city that one minute you're deep in a bamboo forest, the next minute tower blocks spring into view. To many visitor's surprise, almost 70 per cent of Hong Kong's total land area is unspoilt countryside and mountains.

Hong Kong Tourism Board (Consumer Site)
Hong Kong Tourism Board (Corporate Site)
Tourism Commission of the Government of the HKSAR
mehk – Meetings & Exhibitions Hong Kong
Quality Tourism Services (QTS) Scheme
Quality Tourism Services Association
Hong Kong Association of Registered Tour Co-ordinators
Hong Kong Association of Travel Agents (HATA)
Travel Industry Council of Hong Kong (TIC)
8_4.asp sitemap.asp

親愛的學生們

歡迎瀏覽香港太平山頂網站!

以下資料簡單介紹太平山頂,香港首屈一指的旅遊名勝。若您需要更多關於山頂的資料,可到位於網站主頁的左欄設有多個「資訊箱」,直接瀏覽山頂不同精彩體驗。

太平山頂, 香港首屈一指的旅遊名勝,不慬擁有壯麗景致、滿載購物和飲食樂趣,還具備多個獨一無二的必遊景點,為您帶來多元化的旅遊體驗,讓您悠然感受香港的生活文化。

香港山頂纜車
一個不能錯過的香港體驗!
要登上太平山頂,乘搭世界上其中一個最古老及最負盛名的山頂纜車絕對是一趟難忘的體驗!這個香港傳奇,是由港督德輔爵士於1888年5月30日主持啟用禮,時至今日,已有多達120的歷史。整條鐵路以鋼索拖行,列車依山坡斜斜從海拔 28米攀升至396米(約1,300呎),乘客沿途可俯瞰維多利亞港景致。坐在車廂內,身子不由得向後傾,部分路段斜坡度介乎 4至27度!高樓巨廈、茂密叢木看來好像都倒往一旁,感覺實在奇妙!

山頂纜車歷史珍藏館
重返昔日
在規劃「山頂纜車歷史珍藏館」的過程中,山頂纜車花了多年時間從世界各地搜羅各種與纜車相關的珍藏品,部份展品更超過百年歷史,彌足珍貴。我們還展出了一卡仿製的第一代山頂纜車,以及自1926年起一直肩負驅動纜車穿梭山頂與中環達六十年的動力系統。

早於1888年,山頂纜車已開始服務香港,默默見證這個城市過去百多年間的變遷。「山頂纜車歷史珍藏館」保存山頂纜車及香港的珍貴歷史,讓香港市民可以在這裡回味以往的片段,海外遊客則能夠領略香港如何演變成璀璨的東方之珠。

山頂纜車歷史
毫無疑問,山頂纜車是香港百年歷史中最久經風霜、最富代表性的生活見證。它經歷過戰爭洗禮,當過由國際巨星所主演的電影與電視劇的取景場地。

1880年期間,通往山頂的山路是由割草工人赤手空拳開闢而成,山路彎曲陡峭,市民對登山轎子需求大增。一般公用轎子由兩條擔杆架起一張倚子便成,製作比較簡陋,所以一頂舒適的轎子便成為上流階層的身份象徵。

1881年5月,蘇格蘭人亞歷山大芬尼利史密斯雄心勃勃,制訂了一項大膽的計畫:建造索道纜車,將美利軍營與維多利亞谷連接起來,從而加快各山項地區新住宅區的開發。

這個香港傳奇,於1888年5月30日由港督德輔爵士主持啟用禮,正式揭開序幕。

自此,山頂纜車在這個城市扮演了一個特殊角色,成為香港輝煌歷史的重要標誌之一。

山頂凌霄閣
與您相約在山頂凌霄閣
座落香港島太平山上,位於海拔396米高的山頂凌霄閣,其獨特設計盡展摩登建築的精萃,更是香港最時尚設計的建築物之一,外貌廣被全球數以百萬計的明信片及照片取用。

山頂凌霄閣薈萃全球精選美食、特式商店及、互動娛樂設施及香港最高360度觀景台,讓您在醉人景緻中盡情玩樂。

凌霄閣摩天台428
香港最高的 360 度觀景台,盡情投入摩天體驗!
蒞臨香港最高360度觀景台凌霄閣摩天台428,盡是目不暇給的視覺體驗,讓您於全港最優越的地理位置,飽覽醉人都會景緻,大有君臨天下之感。不論您是於日間、下午或晚上時間到訪山頂,觀賞感覺迥然不同,各有特色,凌霄閣摩天台428實是不能錯過的最佳景觀地點!

若想盡情體驗山頂旅程,山頂纜車摩天套票讓您可以同時登上香港最高360度觀景台 - 凌霄閣摩天台428欣賞維港醉人景緻及體驗山頂纜車旅程。而且,在山頂纜車總站或指定旅行社購買山頂纜車摩天套票更可讓您以優惠價獲得雙重享受。您亦可於凌霄閣的顧客服務中心 ( 地下 ) 購買凌霄閣摩天台428入場票。

山頂凌霄閣三代變革
六十年代期間,為配合遊客絡繹不絕的造訪,山頂的設施亦明顯需與時並進相應提升。

1972
被譽為超現代建築風格的山頂凌霄閣始建於1971年,期間多次進行修葺翻新,見證了香港的時代變遷。 山頂凌霄閣並非坐落太平山頂峰上,而是屹立於海拔 396米的太平山脊維多利峽上。1972年8月29日,山頂凌霄閣首度向公眾開放。

1997
1993年,凌霄閣邀請英國著名設計師 Terry Farrell操刀,耗資5億港元將凌霄閣改建為一座集購物、娛樂與餐飲服務於一身的綜合大樓,並於 1997年5月重新開放。

2006
2005年3月凌霄閣進行大規模翻新工程,並於2006年中旬重新開放,將這著名地標變為集美食、消閒、購物與娛樂於一身的消閒新據點,為本地居民與來自世界各地的遊客帶來煥然一新的體驗。

山頂自然郊遊樂
要細賞市區和香港郊野的對比景觀,山頂可說是最理想的觀賞地點。在這裡鳥瞰城市風貌,動人景致一覽無遺,難怪是旅客必到的香港景點。香港有超過七成的面積屬於郊區,而且植物品種之多,往往令自然愛好者讚歎!


其他參考網站

香港旅游發展局(旅客網站 )   www.discoverhongkong.com
 
香港旅游發展局(旅業網站 )   www.partnernet.hktb.com
 
香港特別行政區政府旅游事務署   www.tourism.gov.hk/
 
香港旅遊發展局「香港會議及展覽拓展部」   www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/mice/
 
「優質旅游服務」計劃   www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/plan-your-trip/qts-scheme/index.jsp
 
優質旅游服務協會   www.qtsa.com
 
香港注册導游協會   www.hartco.org
 
香港旅行社協會   www.hata.org.hk
 
香港旅游業議會   www.tichk.org
 
8_4.asp sitemap.asp