Standing at 552 metres above sea level, the Peak is the highest mountain on Hong Kong Island and a natural signaling post for incoming cargo ships in the nineteenth century. The more privileged early residents, however, found it the perfect retreat from Hong Kong scorching summer heat.

 
Sedan chair
 

Governor Sir Richard MacDonnell's summer home (circa 1868) was built there to take advantage of the cooler but humid climes. Soon other wealthy residents followed suit. Many of them traversed up and down the steep Peak paths by sedan chair, which were carried by their personal staff of uniformed bearers. From 1904, the Peak was designated an exclusive residential area reserved only for expatriates although this practice ended in 1947.

Further development of the Peak did not really occur until Alexander Findlay Smith, who had worked for Scotland's Highland Railway, managed to petition the Governor, Sir John Pope-Hennessy, in 1881 to operate tram routes. One of them connected the south of Murray Barracks to Victoria Gap on the Peak. The Peak had attracted its prestigious residents since the 19th century.

 
The Peak Hotel
 

Mr. Findlay Smith was hoping the tram route would increase visitor traffic and boost business at the erstwhile Peak Hotel, which opened eight years earlier in 1873 on land he owned. Unfortunately, the hotel was destroyed in a fire in 1938.

With a regular and reliable form of public transportation now available, the Peak quickly became renowned for its spectacular views of the city and the harbour. Today, the Peak attracts some seven million visitors a year, making it one of Hong Kong's top tourist destinations.

 
First generation Peak Tram

See also The Peak Tram History

8_4.asp sitemap.asp

太平山是香港島最高的山,海拔達552米,高居臨下,視野開闊。遠於19世紀初,太平山頂已經成為貨船進入港口的航道地標。而鑑於香港氣候炎熱潮濕,太平山頂亦順理成章成為不少達官貴人的避暑勝地。

 
人力轎車
 

約1868年,港督麥當奴爵士為享受太平山頂清涼宜人的居住環境,特別選址該處興建避暑別墅。漸漸地,移居太平山成為富豪顯赫與名流紳士所推崇的風尚。當時,官爺小姐們要往返山頂,就會聘用穿著整齊制服的轎夫所抬的人力轎車作為交通工具。1904年,居住太平山被正式列為上流社會以及外國使節的專有權利,更見山頂的非凡地位。這個制度,一直沿用至1947年方被廢棄。

太平山頂一直保持她遠離塵囂的憩靜安逸,直至1881年才有突破性發展。當年,一位屬於蘇格蘭高原鐵路工作的亞歷山大.芬梨.史密夫,向當時的港督軒尼詩爵士提出建議,建設港島纜車鐵路,其中一段連接美利樓南側至山頂維多利亞峽,即今日的山頂纜車。自19世紀開始,太平山頂漸漸成為上流社會的聚居地。

 
山頂酒店
 

史密夫一心唯願纜車服務增加該區客流量,從而為他於山頂地權上興建的山頂酒店(建於1873年)帶來經濟效益。可惜的是,這所酒店於1938年因火災燒毀。

自從山頂擁有自己穩健可靠的交通工具,她高居臨下的壯闊維港景色迅即蜚聲國際。時至今日,太平山頂每年吸引超過700萬名遊客到訪,成為香港最受歡迎的旅遊熱點之一。

 
第一代纜車

如欲認識更多山頂歷史,歡迎到訪山頂纜車歷史

8_4.asp sitemap.asp