Ever since the opening in 1888, The Peak Tram has undergone various phases of modernisation, evolving from coal-fired steam boilers to today's microprocessor-controlled electric drive system.

The Peak Tram, a double reversible funicular system, still runs on its original railway track but it has undergone a complete modernisation programme to upgrade its operating system and machinery. Today, the Peak Tram uses a microprocessor-controlled electric motor that automatically manages the tramcar speed, accelerating and braking accordingly at each of the tram stations.

With a maximum speed of six metres per second, the tramcar operating system is equipped with three separate braking systems: Normal Stop Mode, Service Stop Mode and Emergency Stop Mode. Normal Stop is achieved by allowing gentle deceleration which is controlled through the microprocessor. Service Stop uses regulated braking, for a constant deceleration rate, to avoid a potential hazard in situations where it would be too late to use Normal Stop. If safety is endangered, the emergency stop is used to stop the tramcar in the shortest possible time by braking the haulage drum at full force. The emergency brake will also be applied if: the service brake fails, the tramcar exceeds the normal speed by 15 per cent, or the haulage rope slackens.


Two haulage ropes are used which have a diameter of 44 millimetres and can hold up to 139 tonnes. The steepest part of the route, where the tracks cross-over on May Road, is 27 degrees to the horizontal. The track is 1,365 metres long and the tramcar takes approximately seven minutes to complete a one way trip. The Tramcar carries up to 120 passengers: 95 seated and 25 standing. Two tramcars run in opposite directions for over 90 trips each day. The unique waveform floor is specially designed for the safety and comfort of standing passengers. Both tramcars start to operate simultaneously after an automatic safety device check is carried out before each journey.

The latest upgrade was initiated in mid-1986, when companies were invited to bid for the project which stipulated that passenger numbers must increase from 560 to 1,400 per hour one way. The Peak Tram also demanded modern state-of-the-art equipment that was safe and easy to maintain. On May 18, 1988, the project was awarded to Von Roll Transport System of Switzerland.

The new plant and equipment was designed to be located underground, beneath the existing upper terminus platform. A total of 1,650 cubic metres of material was excavated and the surrounding area on Findlay Road was reinforced with 236 micropiles, measuring a combined depth of 2,943 metres.

To allow for the installation of the new equipment, the tram service ceased on June 20, 1989 and resumed on August 5, 1989.

  • Double reversible funicular system
  • Lower Terminus - 28 metres above sea level
  • Upper Terminus - 396metres above sea level
  • Length of Track - 1,365 metres
  • Track Gradient - From 4 degrees to 27 degrees
8_4.asp sitemap.asp

山顶缆车自1888年投入服务至今,进行过多项翻新及现代化工程,更由最初采用燃煤推动的传统技术,演变成今时今日先进的微型处理器控制电力驱动系统,与时并进。

山顶缆车采用双向登山铁路系统。虽然经过多次系统现代化与翻新工程,但至今仍然沿用建于1888年的路轨运作模式,别具一格。今天的山顶缆车是应用电脑微型处理器控制电力驱动系统,按预先编定的程式, 自动控制缆车的行驶速度,包括其加速、减速及进出站程序,有效达致全自动化水平。

现代化的系统可令缆车最高时速达致每秒钟6米。为安全起见,系统特设有三个独立的制动系统:电动停车系统、正常停车系统以及紧急停车系统。电动停车系统是由电脑程式自动减速,以完成自动煞车。正常停车系统于电动停车系统失效或无法有效防止意外发生时使用。紧急停车系统则会在正常停车系统失效或无法有效防止意外发生时使用,紧急停车的制动力强劲。另备有一套特殊的制动系统:当服务系统失灵,或当缆车行驶速度超过正常速度15%或以上,又或是钢缆松脱时会自动启动。

 
 
山顶缆车由两条直径44毫米可承受负荷达139公吨的钢缆牵动。全程最斜的坡度,位于梅道站,与水平面达27度。山顶缆车全程 1365米,电脑化列车只需约7分钟的行程。缆车最多可同时乘载120名乘客,当中包括95个座位和25个企位,每日运行超过90班次。车厢内独特的波浪型走廊地台,是设计上的一大特色,以方便乘客于斜坡时站立。缆车每次启动之前,必先经过电脑程序自动安全测试。

山顶缆车最近一次的翻新改善工程于1986年中旬开始部署,缆车公司特别邀请世界各地的著名公司参与投标,目的是为将每小时单程载客量由560人次提升至 1400人次。并希望借此引进现代化技术,令系统更安全及易于维修保养。于1988年5月18日,有关的现代化工程由来自瑞士的Von Roll Transport System成功投得。

为安装新设施,工程专家特意于山顶缆车总站月台地底开辟新机房,以充份利用地下空间 , 既节省地方,又可减少噪音。工程共挖出土方1,650立方米,芬梨道附近范围更要以236条小型支柱加强巩固,支柱总长竟达2,943米。

为了配合大型现代化设备安装工程的顺利进行,山顶缆车由1989年6月20日开始停止服务,并如期于同年8月5日以崭新面貌重新投入服务。

概要:
  • 双向行驶缆索铁路系统
  • 中环花园道总站位于海拔28米
  • 山顶凌霄阁总站位于海拔396米
  • 铁路全长 1,365米
  • 坡度 4度至27度
 
8_4.asp sitemap.asp